Susman Godfrey Announces Recipients of 2022 Susman Godfrey Prize for Students of Color

Susman Godfrey is delighted to announce the 2022 Susman Godfrey Prize winners: 12 law school students of color who have demonstrated academic excellence and overall achievement. The Prize is open to students of color who are finishing their first or second year of law school. Winners are awarded $2,500 and an offer for a 2023 summer clerkship (accepting the summer clerkship is not a requirement).

The Prize was launched in 2021 as part of the firm’s ongoing commitment to enhance diversity in the legal profession and within the firm. Our ultimate goal is to increase the pipeline of diverse attorneys interested in civil trial litigation.

To be considered, a student must be nominated by a law school professor or administrator. Nominees are evaluated based on their respective resumes, transcripts and letters of recommendation. After narrowing down the group of 73 nominees to a group of 26 Finalists, 12 winners were selected after having a virtual interview with SG lawyers.

“We are thrilled to once again recognize a class of incredibly talented and impressive diverse young law students,”  said Susman Godfrey co-Managing Partner Kalpana Srinivasan. “Our firm believes in the importance of broad representation of lawyers in the courtroom.”

Susman Godfrey’s other co-Managing Partner Vineet Bhatia adds, “We developed the SG prize with the goal of encouraging more bright, young minority lawyers to explore civil litigation as a career. We are excited to celebrate their achievements and hope to welcome them to our firm next summer.”

Click here to watch the 2022 SG Prize Winners reception, featuring Hon. Diana S. Saldaña of the Southern District of Texas.

Click here to meet the 2022 Susman Godfrey Prize Winners. They include:

  • Habib Abraham, 2L, Columbia Law
  • Sydney Daniels, 1L, Yale Law School
  • Gabrielle Dohmen, 2L, University of Chicago Law School
  • Kevin Kuate Fodouop, 2L, NYU Law
  • Brittney Foxhall, 2L, University of Chicago Law School
  • Diana Kensy, 2L, University of Texas Law School
  • Layla Kousari, 1L, Harvard Law
  • Emily Martinez, 1L, University of Houston Law School
  • Jason Onyediri, University of Texas Law School
  • Fernando Rojas, Yale Law School
  • Talia Scott, 1L, NYU Law
  • Jeffrey Xia, 2L, Stanford Law School

Related People

News & Awards