Susman Godfrey Announces Recipients of Inaugural Susman Godfrey Prize for Students of Color

Susman Godfrey is pleased to announce the inaugural group of Susman Godfrey Prize recipients: 12 law school students of color who have demonstrated academic excellence and overall achievement. The Susman Godfrey Prize was launched this year as part of the firm’s ongoing commitment to enhancing diversity in the legal profession and with the goal of increasing the pipeline of diverse attorneys interested in civil trial litigation. Law school professors and administrators were asked to nominate students and provide accompanying recommendations. Recipients of the prize were selected following a virtual interview with Susman Godfrey attorneys.

“We are thrilled to recognize these law students and shine a light on the incredibly talented diverse young lawyers coming up the ranks,”  said Susman Godfrey co-Managing Partner Kalpana Srinivasan. “The practice of civil trial litigation will benefit greatly by having more lawyers of color, and we developed the SG prize with that aim in mind.”

The Susman Godfrey Prize is open to students of color who are finishing their first or second year of law school. Prize recipients are awarded $2,500 and extended an offer for a 2022 summer clerkship at any of the firm’s offices. Accepting the summer clerkship is not a requirement for accepting the prize.

“Our firm’s growing diversity is part of what makes Susman Godfrey the top-ranked litigation boutique in the country,” said Susman Godfrey co-Managing Partner Neal Manne. “The Susman Godfrey Prize will provide immediate assistance to these superb law students and may encourage them to explore civil litigation as a career. We are very excited to celebrate their achievements and we hope to welcome them to our firm next summer.”

The 2021 Susman Godfrey Prize was awarded to the following students. More details on the winners can be viewed here. You can watch the winners reception here.

  • Regina Campbell: UCLA School of Law, 1L
  • Jemie Fofanah: NYU School of Law, 2L
  • Travis Gidado: University of Chicago Law School, 2L
  • Kaysie Gonzalez: UCLA School of Law, 1L
  • Mariah Levy: Northwestern Pritzker School of Law, 2L
  • Min Lobb: Columbia Law School, 2L
  • Charisma Nguepdo: University of Houston Law Center, 2L
  • Danielle Roybal: Stanford Law School, 2L
  • Arijeet Sensharma: NYU School of Law, 2L
  • Rehan Staton: Harvard Law School, 1L
  • Kathryn (Galyn) Sumida-Ross: UCLA School of Law, 1L
  • Henry Zhu: Northwestern Pritzker School of Law, 2L

Related People

News & Awards